Our Team

Staff Directory

Front Desk: Susan Rivenbark, 772-6900, Susan.H.Rivenbark@nccourts.org

Assistant to the DA: Samantha Dooies, 772-6934, Samantha.Dooies@nccourts.org

Assistant District Attorneys  

 

First Assistant District Attorney: Barrett Temple, Elizabeth.B.Temple@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Charissa Joyner, 772-6942, Charissa.L.Joyner@nccourts.org 

 

District Court Team:

Ctrm. 200 (County cases): Michael Chaney, Michael.B.Chaney@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Sonja Reece, 772-6936, Sonja.M.Reece@nccourts.org

Ctrm. 317 (City cases): Terrie Nelson, terrie.l.nelson@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Madison Spada, 772-6945, Madison.P.Spada@nccourts.org 

Felony District Court Team (Ctrm. 302): Alexandria Palombo, Alexandria.J.Palombo@nccourts.org

  Assistants: Susan Boles, 772-6911, Susan.P.Boles@nccourts.org 

                  Patty Swank, 772-6909, Patricia.A.Swank@nccourts.org 

           

Drug Team:

Jerry Hannant, Jerry.T.Hannant@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Haeley Leverton, 772-6902, Haeley.R.Leverton@nccourts.org 

Ashton Herring, Mary.A.Herring@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Haeley Leverton, 772-6902, Haeley.R.Leverton@nccourts.org 

  Drug Dispositions: Caroline Scorza, 772-6913, Caroline.J.Scorza@nccourts.org 

Brad Matthews, Bradley.W.Matthews@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Jake Newell, 772-6903, John.R.Newell@nccourts.org

 

Family Violence Team:

Lance Oehrlein, Lance.R.Oehrlein@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Christine Shuler, 772-6908, Christine.B.Shuler@nccourts.org

Amy White, Amy.K.White@nccourts.org 

  Assistant: Shequana Pulliam, 772-6907, Shequana.Pulliam@nccourts.org

Felony Motor Vehicle Team:

Kristi Severo, Kristi.S.Severo@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Samantha Harvey, 772-6948, Samantha.M.Harvey@nccourts.org

Financial Fraud & Identity Theft Team:

Murphy Averitt, franklin.m.averitt@nccourts.org 

  Assistant: Christine Shuler, 772-6908, Christine.B.Shuler@nccourts.org

 

Human Trafficking and Adult Sex Crimes Team:

Connie Jordan, Connie.C.Jordan@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Courtney Last, 772-6910, Courtney.M.Last@nccourts.org

Juvenile Court Team:

Ashton Herring, Mary.A.Herring@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Jalen Howard, 772-6912, Jalen.J.Howard@nccourts.org 

 

Pender County Team

Hannah McGee, District Court, Hannah.I.McGee@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Emily Lankler, 663-3949, Emily.G.Lankler@nccourts.org

Jason Smith, Superior Court Felonies & Drugs, Jason.W.Smith@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Victoria Kealon, 663-3954, Victoria.L.Kealon@nccourts.org 

Sean Spiering, Superior Court, Sean.Spiering@nccourts.org 

  Assistant: Emily Lankler, 663-3949, Emily.G.Lankler@nccourts.org

Probation, MARs & First Appearances Team:

Rosetta Royster, Rosetta.L.Royster@nccourts.org 

  Assistant: Samantha Harvey, 772-6948, Samantha.M.Harvey@nccourts.org

Property Team:​

Christa Lawler, Christa.H.Lawler@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Camille Olson, 772-6905, Camille.E.Olson@nccourts.org

Rebecca Donaldson, Rebecca.Z.Donaldson@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Madison Spada, 772-6945, Madison.P.Spada@nccourts.org 

Violent Crime Team

Doug Carriker, Doug.W.Carriker@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Shequana Pulliam, 772-6907, Shequana.Pulliam@nccourts.org

Dru Lewis, James.D.Lewis@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Courtney Last, 772-6910, Courtney.M.Last@nccourts.org

Barrett Temple, Elizabeth.B.Temple@nccourts.org

  Assistant: Charissa Joyner, 772-6942, Charissa.L.Joyner@nccourts.org 

Support Staff 

 

Heidi Brown, Discovery Intake, 772-6939, Heidi.Brown@nccourts.org

Stacy Haines, Docket Manager, 772-6904, Stacy.G.Haines@nccourts.org

J. W. Hedge, Homicide Investigator, 772-6931, J.W.Hedge@nccourts.org

Jalen Howard, Intake Manager & First Appearances, 772-6912, Jalen.J.Howard@nccourts.org 

Law Enforcement Liaisons

Family Violence Unit Liaisons

  Det. L. Hudson, NHSO, 798-4310  

  Det. G. Jones, NHSO, 798-4308 

  Det. H. Wooddell, WPD, 443-0473

 

Wilmington Police Department Liaison 

  Det. R. Knopf, 772-6932 

 

NHC Sheriff's Office Liaison 

  S. McKoy, 772-6933 

 

UNC-Wilmington Liaison 

  Capt. C. Padgett, 962-7809 (office)

Potter 2019_edited.jpg

POTTER is our facility dog. He came to us in the fall of 2017 after extensive training from paws4people. He helps to comfort victims, goes to community events, and brings a smile to everyone who visits our office. He spends most of his day looking for treats.

Join Our Team!

Careers

All available staff positions will be posted on the NC Government Human Resources website

Internships

The DA's Office hosts undergraduate interns during the fall and spring semesters and hosts undergraduate and law school students during the summer. Students are placed in both New Hanover and Pender County. Interns must be current students and undergraduate students must be registered for course credit (credit is optional for law students). Law student internships are for the duration of the summer and the office requires students to complete a minimum of 40 hours per week.

Applicants may submit the following for consideration: 

- Resumé

- Cover letter explaining why you want to intern in our office and your goals for the internships

- Contact information for three personal and/or professional references

- Applicant's full name (and any prior names) and date of birth (for a background screening)

We are currently recruiting undergraduate interns for Spring 2022; please see the attached flyer for more information. Application deadline is October 17. 

 

Contacts:

Samantha Dooies - undergraduate interns

Ashton Herring - law school interns